ATTENTION!!!! Thanks to all the great support for musicians and bands, SUPPORT KICK ASS MUSIC has moved to a new website!!!
Please GO TO ==>> and keep on supporting your favorite KICK ASS artists!!!

Friday, April 8, 2011

Brian Robertson CD Review – Diamonds and Dirt (Hardrock Hideout)

If you are a fan of Thin Lizzy, then Brian Robertson is no stranger to you. This former Thin Lizzy/Motorhead guitarist has finally released his first solo album after years of being absent from the music scene. On his new album, Diamonds and Dirt, Robbo has enlisted an all-star crew to help form one hell of a good debut record. The line up for this CD is Ian Haugland (Europe) on drums, Nalley Påhlsson (Treat) on bass, Leif Sundin (MSG) on vocals and Liny Wood on background vocals. Many of the songs on Diamonds and Dirt were written by Brian Robertson, the late great Phillip Lynott, plus you get three cool Frankie Miller cover tunes. What this means is, on Diamonds and Dirt you get 100% quality music all the way through.

Brian Robertson’s guitar work shines all the way through this CD. Hearing him play again after all of these years, makes me wonder where he has been hiding. Robbo’s style of playing reminds me of a cross between Stevie Ray Vaughn and Peter Frampton. He is one hell of a talented player. Diamonds and Dirt ought to put him back in the spotlight.

The music on this CD is a blend of classic rock, blues and AOR. It isn’t a perfect outing, but it is one entertaining listen. The songs on this CD came from Robertson’s unreleased compositions, so I am sure that a lot of the material is fairly old, however that doesn’t make it bad. Some of the songs remind me of a blend of Bad Company, Foreigner and of course, Thin Lizzy. If Diamonds and Dirt was released sooner, who knows what kind of impact it could have had on the music scene.

I am glad Robbo finally let this music see the light of day. Hopefully, he won’t wait a long time before Robbo blesses us with another set of tunes. Until he does, I will be enjoying Diamonds and Dirt. Check it out!

        Rating Out of 10

Track Listing:

01: Diamonds And Dirt (Brian Robertson)
02: Passion (Brian Robertson)
03: It’s Only Money (Phil Lynott)
04: Mail Box (Frankie Miller)
05: Running Back (Phil Lynott)
06: Texas Wind (Brian Robertson)
07: Devil In My Soul (Brian Robertson)
08: Do It Till We Drop (Drop It) (Frankie Miller/Jeff Barry/Brian Robertson)
09: Blues Boy (Brian Robertson/Phil Lynott)
10: That’s All…! (Brian Robertson)
11: 10 Miles To Go On A 9 Mile Road (Jim White)
12: Running Back (Phil Lynott) (slow version)
13: Ain’t Got No Money (Frankie Miller) (bonus track)

Produced by Chris Laney, Sören Lindberg and Brian Robertson except for “Ain’t Got No Money” produced by Sören Lindberg and Brian Robertson


Brian Robertson – All Guitars, Lead & Backing Vocals, Keyboards(Bass Guitar and Percussion on “Ain’t Got No Money) (Ex-THIN LIZZY, Ex-MOTÖRHEAD, Ex-WILD HORSES)
Ian Haugland – Drums and Percussion (Drummer EUROPE)
Nalley Påhlsson – Bass Guitar & Backing Vocals (Bassplayer THERION and TREAT)
Leif Sundin – Lead Vocals (Ex-singer of MSG)
Liny Wood – Backing Vocals
Rickard Jakobson – Percussion
Chris Antblad – Piano on “Running Back”
Ola Gustafsson – Dobro on “Running Back”(slow version only!)
Rob Lamothe – Lead Vocals on “Ain’t Got No Money” (RIVERDOGS)
Ellinor Alm – Backing Vocals on “Ain’t Got No Money”
Håkan Persson – Drums on “Ain’t Got No Money”

No comments:

Post a Comment